Hazard Analysis & Critical Control Points (HACCP) 

HACCP is a management system in which food safety is addressed through the analysis and control of biological, chemical, and physical hazards from raw material production, procurement and handling, to manufacturing, distribution and consumption of the finished product.

In the Czech food legislation a system is known as "critical points system".

HACCP  = critical points system

The seven principles of a HACCP System:

1. Analyze hazards
2. Determine critical control points
3. Establish limits for critical control points
4. Establish monitoring procedures for critical control points
5. Establish corrective actions
6. Establish verification procedures
7. Establish a record system

In order to enhance food safety, every stage of the food production (from purchasing, receiving, transportation, storage, preparation, handling, cooking to serving) should be carried out and monitored scrupulously.

Current legislation already imposes the obligation to the introduction of critical points to all food business operators (producers and food retailers) and catering services. The legislation provides for the introduction of these principles to primary agricultural production as an important part of the food chain.